Television ‘comfort food’

With the snow here, I’ve been nostalgic for Gilmore Girls, probably because it seems like it is always winter in Stars Hollow, Connecticut. This show is also the chicken soup for my soul.

Sean always makes fun of me for cycling through the seasons for the millionth time since high school, but I can’t help it. Something about the familiar cast of eccentric characters, the quirky small town setting, the witty banter, it just makes me feel warm and cozy inside.

397_gilmore_girls_468

And every time I watch the show, I seem to get a few more of the literary and pop culture references (my favorite, from Paris during her college daily editor-in-chief days: “Journalism is an art form, and the best art is created under repression, like Stalin’s Gulag. You think Solzhenitsyn could’ve written ‘One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich’ on a yoga retreat?”). So it’s never quite the same, you see.

As I watch the second season, and Jess is first introduced to the show, I’m reminded so much of how much I loved the relationship between him and Rory. It is the ultimate romance for book-lovers. Take this scene centered around Rory’s copy of Howl:
howl

RORY: You stole my book.

JESS: Nope, borrowed it.

RORY: Okay, that’s not called a trick, that’s called a felony.

JESS: I just wanted to put some notes in the margins for you.

RORY: What? [looks through the book] You’ve read this before.

JESS: About forty times.

RORY: I thought you said you didn’t read much.

JESS: Well, what is much? Goodnight, Rory.

RORY: Goodnight, Dodger.

JESS: Dodger?

RORY: Figure it out.

JESS: Oliver Twist.

Ugh, so good. Jess is every bookworm’s dream boyfriend. Also, he’s from New York, so he’s super-cool, OK?

Did you know there’s actually a Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge list of all the books referenced or shown in the television series? It always makes me feel pleased with myself when they reference a book I’ve read (“Just call me Ponyboy.” in reference to The Outsiders, or “My mother, the Howard Roark of Stars Hollow.” in reference to The Fountainhead).

Rory has always been one of my favorite fictional characters because I liked that especially in the early seasons, she was very shy and studious — which made her sooo much more relateable for me than anyone on other teen shows of my high school years like The O.C. or One Tree Hill.

url

Fun fact: Rory and I also have the same birthday (October 8) and college major (English). We’re also both from small towns with funny names (Stars Hollow, Niceville) that host annual events (like the Boggy Bayou Mullet Festival in Niceville). We both were editors at our college newspapers and got our first “grown-up” jobs as reporters. We also both had our long-term college boyfriends propose to us shortly before college graduation, although we gave different answers. We’re basically twins. Except I don’t have wealthy New England grandparents who sent me to Yale or a mom who had me at 16, but that’s OK.

Do you have a favorite TV show that always makes you feel a little happier than before you started watching it? I feel more relaxed as soon as the opening credits of Gilmore Girls come on.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Television ‘comfort food’

  1. Janet Price-Haughey

    How about the bliss one feels when hearing the opening music to “Downton Abbey”? Gerard and I have you and Sean to thank for our current obsession!

  2. Catherine

    Rebecca, I don’t think we’ve ever actually met, but I lived in Lechner in 08-09. I ran across your blog on a mutual friend’s fb wall and have been reading it ever since! I’ve often thought we would be kindred spirits and now I am convinced!! Gilmore Girls is the show I turn to for comfort. I have to watch You’ve Got Mail at least once a year, and Gossip Girl is my guilty pleasure snow. Please keep up writing! I thoroughly enjoy your blog!

    • Sorry it took me forever to reply to this, but I’m so glad you are enjoying the blog! Did you live in Lechner? I feel like you are one of those people with whom I have half a million mutual friends/acquaintances, but have never really had the pleasure to meet! How does that happen?!?

      • Catherine

        I did live in Lechner! I think I met your husband a few times. I also went to St. Mary’s so I think I saw y’all around a bit. Brandon Gentry was my Lechner “Dad”. I was a Liberal Arts Major, which was always interesting in Lechner, surrounded by all the engineers lol.

Leave a Reply

