New Year’s Reading Resolutions

large2012 is almost over! So much has happened, but one of the things I am most proud of (besides that whole getting-married-moving-to-NYC-getting-an-editing-job-adopting-a-cat-daughter ordeal) is actually keeping my New Year’s Reading Resolution. My goal was to read 40 books — any 40 books — and I surpassed my goal. As of today, having finished Ned Vizzini’s It’s Kind of A Funny Story, I’ve read 52 books! That’s one book for every week of the year.

This is also 16,623 pages, as calculated by Goodreads, which isn’t the best estimate because a number of these were Kindle ebooks. I got a good mixture of stuff in there from “serious” literature reads like The Color Purple and The God of Small Things to absolute fluff like the Gossip Girl prequel (hahaha) and Confessions of A Shopaholic. Some were really short, like The Law and Here Is New York, which are technically essays but are published in book-form, so THERE. The only book I’d read before was Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone, which is to say I’ve read it at least a dozen times so it shouldn’t count but I did include it anyway. You can see the full catalog of my 2012 readings here.

For 2013, my goal is to read more non-fiction books. 2012 was the first full calendar year of my life since I learned to read that I wasn’t in school, so I had no idea how much time I would be able to dedicate to reading, especially with all of those major life changes listed above. It turns out, a reader is a reader is a reader. I can read a lot, so this next round I’m going to try to break out of my English lit major mode and get in touch with my journalism side by reading more narrative/long-form nonfiction, including about subjects that don’t usually interest me as much.

Here’s a list of books I’m hoping to read this next year, but I’m setting my measurable goal to 20 nonfiction books. Some of these are ones on our bookshelf at home already, some I’ve been pining after for ages, and some were the helpful suggestions of my Facebook friends. (:

Nonfiction books I’m finally (hopefully) going to read:

This should all keep me very busy. I also try to keep up with my weekly Time magazine, and now I will be getting New York magazine each week, thanks to a Christmas gift subscription! I think my brain will be full of knowledge, that’s for sure.

If you have a favorite nonfiction book (long-form journalism, biography, memoir, a David Sedaris book I haven’t yet read), please suggest it in the comments! I’m open to all suggestions.

kurt-and-cat glam  book shots

Kurt Cobain…with a book! And a kitten!

P.S. If you, too, are a reader, check out the lovely photographs at Underground New York Public Library, of fellow bibliophiles getting lost in a book while on the subway.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “New Year’s Reading Resolutions

  1. Nonfictions books definitely take a bit longer than fiction to read but they’re totally worth it. If you feel stuck I recommend listening to a few on tape. I read The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer by listening before bed each night for a month or so, it’s fabulously well done as an audiobook. I would not read The Devil in the White city that way though, the serial killer chapters are a bit too creepy IMHO.

    ALSO: A few of these book are ones I’ve been looking at so I eagerly await your opinion. Plus, I’m not sure how many graphic novels you’ve read or your interest in the medium but if you need recommendations in that area let me know. Scott McCloud wrote the fabulous Understanding Comics which analyzes the medium in the medium. It’s fabulously interesting.

  2. Laura Hillenbrand’s books are so good. She does extensive research from her home as she has chronic fatigue syndrome, which makes her level of detail even more impressive.

    I’m also hoping to read a few more non-fiction books. First on my list is The Black Count by Tom Reiss because I have always loved The Count of Monte Christo and would like to know how much Alexandre Dumas’ father influenced his work!

  3. Sheila Kozmin

    Rebecca, you amaze me! Totally! I am going to start my own list for 2013 today. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

