Blog challenge! – Day 1 (10 secrets)

photo

My best friend Kristen came to visit us for this past weekend, and since she’s been to this city a number of times already, we tried to give her a more authentic New York experience. Which included such activities as listening to this fantastically talented fellow hammer out classical tunes on a grand piano in Washington Square Park. Blessed.

More on her visit later. For now, there’s this:
10-days-you-challengeI have no shortage of things I want to write about, don’t get me wrong, and I usually think blog challenges are lame, but sometimes it’s fun to take a moment to reflect on oneself. OK. That also sounded lame. I doubt I’ll do these on consecutive days, but I am going to try to do all 10 days! I need excuses to write.

10 Secrets:

1. I have seen every single episode of The Brady Bunch, including the three-part special where they go on vacation to Hawaii and the other three-part special where they go to the Grand Canyon. Also the one when Desi Arnaz, Jr. kisses Marcia. I watched all of them in elementary school. I’ve always known I was born in the wrong decade.

desi-arnaz-brady-bunch1

2. The one thing I wish I could change about myself more than anything is my total inability to sing. I love music, and I will always be jealous of anyone blessed with a beautiful voice. Or even a decent one.

3. One time my friend’s older brother told us if we inhaled Pixie Sticks, our sneezes would be colorful. So we did. It was a bad idea. Don’t listen to friend’s older brothers, especially if you are a silly little kid.

4. I floss twice a day, but don’t change my bed sheets nearly often enough. (Gross.)

5. Speaking of which, I graduated with a 4.0 from college, with two majors, AND I CANNOT FOLD A FITTED SHEET TO SAVE MY LIFE. Which partially explains No. 4.

2005-02-08_folding2_rect540

6. I cried myself to sleep after I read the first Harry Potter book in middle school and realized I was just past the age to receive my acceptance letter into Hogwarts School of Witchcraft & Wizardry. You mean to tell me you didn’t do that, too?

hogwarts_school

7. I have not played the clarinet in nearly six years, and I still have stress dreams about band auditions. Those sight-reading pieces, man, I tell you. I also have weird stress dreams about general high school academics in which I do very un-Rebecca-like things, like skip all my classes, cheat on tests, and totally forget about major projects. It’s the worst thing ever, as I never seem to learn to do better from one stress dream to the next.

8. I am one of the least picky eaters I know, but I have difficulty swallowing raw tomatoes. Of all the strange things I will eat, raw tomatoes are my problem food. They are just so…slimy.

i-hate-tomatoes

9. I feel faint when I see anyone else’s blood. My blood, OK. Anyone else’s? I can feel my heart pounding in my ears and the ground begin to go out from under me. They used to have blood drives all the time in the English department building at A&M, and I had to put my blinders on and charge through the main corridor because I was certain I would pass out if I saw those bags of blood. Fun fact: one time recently at my new job I searched for “patient with wound” on our subscription stock photo service, hoping to find a photo of a patient with a bandage/gauze I could use for a continuing education lesson for pharmacists. That is not what I saw. At all. Oh, God. So much blood. I cannot un-see what I have seen. There are so, so many reasons I could never be a doctor.

10. If I am forcibly asked to reveal a “special hidden talent,” the only thing I’ve got is reciting all 50 states in alphabetical order in less than 20 seconds. Basically, I just go up to someone and say, “Hello, I am a huge nerd.” Nothing cool, like doing a backflip or bending my tongue into weird shapes.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Blog challenge! – Day 1 (10 secrets)

  1. I, too, can name all 50 states in alphabetical order in under 20 seconds! And I remember all those blood drives in the English department. Why would they choose the least science-y department ever? Aggies…

Leave a Reply

